Nominees for the 2012 Arqiva Awards announced

Nominees AnnouncedThe nominations for the 2012 Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards were announced on May 10th via an online broadcast for the first time in the awards’ history. Jamie Theakston and Harriet Scott from London’s Heart presented the online broadcast in association with Myspace. To watch the announcement visit

The awards will be held Wednesday 14th July 2012 and is the UK’s largest annual celebration of the very best in UK commercial radio.

Marketing Award

Absolute Radio – Faces for Radio & #NowPlaying

Capital FM Marketing

Touch FM – Pride of Stratford Awards 2012

Local Sales Team of the Year (sponsored by NRS Media)

The Bay

Gem 106

Real Radio North West

National Sales Team of the Year

Absolute Radio

Bauer Media

Global Radio

Radio Station Event of the Year

Absolute Radio Live

Capital’s Jingle Bell Ball

Jagger & Woody ‘Beside the Seaside’ Tour – Real Radio Wales

Breakfast Show of the Year (under 1 Million TSA)

Radio Aire Breakfast – Radio Aire

The Bay Breakfast with Danny Matthews – The Bay

JACK’s Morning Glory – 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire

Breakfast Show of the Year (over 1 Million TSA)

The Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show – Absolute Radio

Des & Jennie at Breakfast – Capital Scotland

Real Radio Breakfast with Ewen & Cat – Real Radio Scotland

Feature(s) of the Year

Oldham Riots: The Legacy – Smooth Radio

Raoul Moat: One Year On Presented by PC David and Kath Rathband – Metro Radio

Ronnie Wood – The Guests – Absolute Radio

Specialist Programme of the Year

The Ronnie Wood Show – Absolute Radio

Music : Response – Mary Anne Hobbs – XFM

Matt Stocks – Kerrang!

Social Action Initiative

Walkathon 2011 – brmb

Positive Mental Health Week – Cool FM

Cocaine Unwrapped – Real Radio North West

Station Imaging Award

106 JACKfm Oxfordshire

The Capital Network

Kiss Network Imaging

Presenter of the Year (under 1 Million TSA)

Greig Easton & Yasmin Zemmoura – Northsound 1

Matt Foister – Trax FM

Trevor Marshall – 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire

Presenter of the Year (over1 Million TSA)

Christian O’Connell – Absolute Radio

John Suchet – Classic FM

Danny Wallace – XFM

Programmer of the Year (sponsored by RCS)

James Brownlow – 95.8 Capital FM

Ricky Durkin – Real Radio Yorkshire

Chris Pegg – Metro Radio

Newcomer(s) of the Year (sponsored by Skillset)

Alun Cochrane – Absolute Radio

Emma Barnett – LBC 97.3

Eoghan McDermott – XFM

Journalist or News Team of the Year (Ali Booker Memorial Award)

106 JACKfm Hertfordshire

GMG Radio North West News Team

Radio Aire News

Best Branded Content

Absolute Radio Live with – Spark/Absolute Radio

Arla Starbuck’s Frappuccino and Capital FM Summertime Ball – Carat / Capital FM

Dangerous’ Dave Vs The Log Flume – Gem 106

Best Creative Campaign – VCCP

Honda – Do You Believe In The Power of Dreams? – Wieden + Kennedy

Peppa Pig World at Paultons Park – Global Radio Creative

Most Effective Campaign

Autoglass Radio Effective Frequency Test – Starcom Medivest

Heart & More Th>n 2011 – Heart

Ikea ‘Happy to Bed’ with Absolute Radio – Absolute Radio

Advertiser of the Year

Lloyds TSB



Media Agency of the Year




PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year

Ed Sheeran


Jessie J

PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio


Take That

The Wanted

Station of the Year (<300,000 TSA)

The Bay

Isle of Wight Radio


Station of the Year (300,000 to 1M TSA)

106 JACKfm Oxfordshire

Northsound 1

Radio Tay

Station of the Year (Over 1 Million TSA)

95.8 Capital FM

Absolute Radio

Radio City 96.7